The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Given Names: Walter Angus Bethune
Title and Honours: Mr
Date and Place of Birth: 17 October 1832 - Derwent Park, Tasmania
Date of Death: 5 November 1909 - Hobart, Tasmania

Legislative Council: 8 December 1871
Electorate: Derwent
Party: Independent
Positions Held: President 1 July 1884 -9 July 1889
Minister: No
Date of Departure: 7 May 1901
Reason for Departure: Defeated.

Comments: Brother of Thomas (MHA Cumberland) and William (MHA Fingal, Ringwood).

House of Assembly Long Room Picture: F

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [
Parliamentary Library] [Research Service
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania. .

Last Update: 24 November 2005