The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Surname: OGDEN
Given Names: James Ernest
Title and Honours: Mr
Date and Place of Birth: 8 March 1868 - Geelong, Victoria
Date of Death: 5 February 1932 - Moonah, Tasmania

House of Assembly: (1) 29 March 1906 (2) 30 April 1909 (3) 5 August 1913
Electorate: (1) Zeehan (2) Darwin (Braddon) (3) Darwin (Braddon)
Party: ALP
Positions Held:
Minister: No
Date of Departure: (1) 30 April 1909 (2) 14 April 1913 (3) 1 November 1922
Reason for Departure: (1) Seat abolished. Stood for Darwin. Successful. (2) Resigned. (3) Resigned to contest Senate. Successful.

Comments: Senator 1923-32.

House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 306

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [
Parliamentary Library] [Research Service
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania. .

Last Update: 24 November 2005