The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Surname: AIRD
Given Names: Michael Anthony
Title and Honours: Mr
Date and Place of Birth: 12 April 1949 - Melbourne, Victoria
Date of Death:

House of Assembly: (1) 28 July 1979 (2) 13 May 1989
Electorate: Franklin
Party: ALP
Positions Held: Minister 1989-92
Date of Departure: (1) 8 February 1986 (2) 28 March 1995
Reason for Departure: (1) Defeated. (2) Resigned to contest Derwent (LC). Successful.

Legislative Council: 27 May 1995
Electorate: Derwent
Party: ALP
Positions Held: Leader of the Government in LC 1998-2006; Treasurer 2006 - 2010.
Date of Departure:
31 March 2011
Reason for Departure: Retired

Inaugural Speech

Comments: Granted the right to use the title 'Honourable' for life on 16 April 1992.

House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 624

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z
Parliament of Tasmania from 1856 Main Menu.

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [Parliamentary Library] [Research Service]
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania.