The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Surname: AGNEW
Given Names: James Wilson
Title and Honours: Sir, KCMG
Qualifications: MRCS, MD
Date and Place of Birth: 2 October 1815 - Ireland
Date of Death: 8 November 1901 - Hobart, Tasmania

Legislative Council: (1) 16 July 1877 (2) 18 February 1884 (3) 18 February 1886
Electorate: (1) Hobart (2) Jordan (3) Macquarie
Party: Independent
Positions Held: Premier 8 March 1886 to 29 March 1887
Date of Departure: (1) 2 March 1881 (2) December 1885 (3) 26 July 1887
Reason for Departure: (1) Resigned. (2) Seat abolished. (3) Retired when his Government was defeated.


House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 135

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [
Parliamentary Library] [Research Service
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania. .

Last Update: 24 November 2005