The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Given Names: Neil
Title and Honours: Mr
Date and Place of Birth: 21 March 1880 - Winkleigh, Tasmania
Date of Death: 25 April 1960 - Launceston, Tasmania

House of Assembly: 10 June 1922
Electorate: Wilmot (Lyons)
Party: Nationalist/Liberal (from 1946)
Positions Held: Chair Committees 1931-34; Opposition Leader 1945-50; Minister 1934
Date of Departure: 19 February 1955
Reason for Departure: Resigned to contest Tamar (LC).

Legislative Council: 14 May 1955
Electorate: Tamar
Party: Nationalist; Liberal
Positions Held:
Date of Departure: 25 April 1960
Reason for Departure: Died in office.

Comments: Condolence motion in HA & LC 27 April 1960.

House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 384

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [
Parliamentary Library] [Research Service
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania. .

Last Update: 24 November 2005