The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Surname: FENTON
Given Names: Charles Balfour Marcus
Title and Honours: Mr, OA (1982), Hon. (21 July 1981)
Date and Place of Birth: 17 January 1912 - Smithton, Tasmania
Date of Death: 12 June 2009

Legislative Council: 11 May 1957
Electorate: Russell
Party: Independent
Positions Held: Chair Committees 1971-72; President 7 June 1972 - 9 June 1981
Date of Departure: 23 May 1981
Reason for Departure: Retired.

Comments: Succeeded his uncle A.B. Fenton. Re-elected unopposed 1969. As President, he was made a member of the Executive Council on 3 December 1975 to commemorate 150th anniversary of first sitting of EC. Granted the right to use the title 'Honourable' for life on 21 July 1981. Condolence Motion in LC 16 June 2009.

House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 530

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [Parliamentary Library] [Research Service]
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania.