The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Given Names: Larissa Tahireh (Lara)
Title and Honours: Ms, Hon
Qualifications: Bachelor Arts/Law
Date and Place of Birth: 14 November 1972, Goroka, Papua New Guinea
Date of Death:

House of Assembly: (1) 24 February 1996 (2) 20 July 2002
Electorate: (1) Lyons (2) Franklin
Party: ALP
Positions Held: Government Whip, Minister 2004 - current, Attorney-General 2008, Treasurer 2010 - 2014, Premier 2011 - 2014.
Minister: Yes
Date of Departure: (1) 29 August 1998 (2) 3 March 2018
Reason for Departure: (1) Defeated. (2) Retired.

Inaugural Speech

First Tasmanian Female Premier. Granted the right to use the title 'Honourable' for life on 16 August 2017.

House of Assembly Long Room Picture:

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z
Parliament of Tasmania from 1856 Main Menu.

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [Parliamentary Library] [Research Service]
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania.