The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Surname: HEAN
Given Names: Alexander
Title and Honours: Mr, CMG
Date and Place of Birth: 11 June 1859 - Lochee, Scotland
Date of Death: 11 January 1927 - Sorell, Tasmania

House of Assembly: (1) 2April 1903 (2) 30 April 1909 (3) 25 March 1916
Electorate: (1) Sorell (2) Franklin (3) Franklin
Party: Anti Socialist (1909-12); Liberal (1912-19); Nationalist (1919-25)
Positions Held: Chair Committees
Minister: Yes
Date of Departure: (1) 30 April 1909 (2) 23 January 1913 (3) 3 June 1925
Reason for Departure: (1) Seat abolished. Elected to Franklin. (2) Defeated. (3) Retired.


House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 293

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [
Parliamentary Library] [Research Service
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania. .

Last Update: 24 November 2005