The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Surname: LOWE
Given Names: Douglas Ackley
Title and Honours: Mr, Hon (11 December 1981)
Date and Place of Birth: 15 May 1942 - Hobart, Tasmania
Date of Death:

House of Assembly: 10 May 1969
Electorate: Franklin
Party: ALP/Independent
Positions Held:
Minister: Premier 1 December 1977 to 11 November 1981
Date of Departure: 8 February 1986
Reason for Departure: Retired.

Legislative Council: 24 May 1986
Electorate: Buckingham
Party: Independent
Positions Held:
Minister: No
Date of Departure: 2 May 1992
Reason for Departure: Resigned.

Comments: At his election to Premier (1977) he was Australia's youngest ever State leader (35); overthrown as ALP Premier by Holgate (1981); remained in HA as Independent 1979-86. Published The Price of Power, an account of the dams debate (Macmillan 1984). Achieved highest personal vote ever in Assembly in 1979 - 24,971 or 51.2% of vote in Franklin. Granted the right to use the title 'Honourable' for life on 11 December 1981.

House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 583

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [Parliamentary Library] [Research Service]
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania.