The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Given Names: Rupert Oakley
Title and Honours: Sir (Kt Cdr 1947)
Date and Place of Birth: 25 January 1883 - Hobart, Tasmania
Date of Death: 5 November 1962 - Hobart, Tasmania

Legislative Council: 4 May 1937
Electorate: Derwent
Party: Independent
Positions Held: Chair Committees 1944-46; President 26 February 1946 to 13 May 1955.
Minister: No
Date of Departure: 14 May 1955
Reason for Departure: Retired.

Comments: Succeeded his father Louis Manton Shoobridge (MLC Derwent 1921-37). Mother was daughter of Sir Philip Fysh (Premier 1877-78; 1887-92); uncle (William) was MHA Franklin 1916-31; cousin (Vincent) MHA Franklin 1940-41; son Louis MLC Queenborough 1969-71.

House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 440

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [
Parliamentary Library] [Research Service
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania. .

Last Update: 24 November 2005