The Parliament of Tasmania from 1856

Surname: WHYTE
Given Names: James
Title and Honours: Mr
Date and Place of Birth: 30 March 1820 - Greenlaw, Scotland
Date of Death: 20 August 1882 - Hobart, Tasmania

Legislative Council: 13 October 1856
Electorate: Pembroke
Party: Independent
Positions Held: Chair Committees 1868-76
Minister: Premier 1863-66
Date of Departure: 26 April 1876
Reason for Departure: Retired.


House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 39

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.
Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.
Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968.
Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.

 A  B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M    N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

[Committees] [Hansard] [Historical Resources] [House of Assembly]
[Legislative Council] [Parliamentary Library] [Research Service]
Back to HomePage

Maintained by Computer and Electronic Services, Parliament of Tasmania. .

Last Update: 24 November 2005