

House of Assembly Select Committee on Firearms Legislation and Policy

The House of Assembly has appointed a Select Committee on Firearms Legislation and Policy with the following Terms of Reference:-

"Resolved, That: -

- (1) A select committee be appointed with power to send for persons and papers to inquire into and report upon current firearms laws, with the following terms of reference:-
 - (a) current and future firearms licensing regimes, including training and testing, licence renewal, licence infringements and licence categories;
 - (b) compliance with the provisions of the National Firearms Agreement;
 - (c) the roles of Tasmania Police, Firearms Services (FAS) and creation of a broad-based consultative group;
 - (d) consideration of public submissions to the Legislative Council firearms laws inquiry in relation to (a), (b), and (c) above; and
 - (e) any other matters incidental thereto.
- (2) That the following Members of this House be appointed to serve on the Committee:-
 - (a) Mr Shelton (Chair),
 - (b) Mr Brooks,
 - (c) Dr Broad (Deputy Chair), and
 - (d) one Member nominated by the Leader of the Greens.
- (3) The Chair of the Committee has a deliberative and a casting vote.
- (4) A quorum for any meeting of a committee shall be three (of whom one is the Chair of the Committee or Deputy Chair)
- (5) That the Committee report by 14 March 2019.
- (6) That should the House not be sitting, a report may be presented to the Speaker of the House, or in their absence, the Clerk of the House, and any report so presented is taken to have been published by order of the House of Assembly."

The Committee has been ordered to report by 14 March 2019.

The Leader of the Greens has appointed Dr Woodruff MP to represent the Greens.

The Committee invites interested persons or organisations to make written submissions to the Committee, the closing date for which is Friday, 26 October 2018.

Submissions become Committee documents. Persons making submissions must not release them without the approval of the Committee. Submissions are protected by parliamentary privilege but the unauthorised release of them is not. The Committee encourages the lodgement of submissions in electronic form. Emailed submissions must include name phone number and postal address.

Persons who wish to give confidential evidence to the Committee should contact the Secretary and request that the Committee hear their evidence in private.

Enquiries and submissions should be directed to:-

The Secretary, Select Committee on Firearms Legislation and Policy Parliament House, Hobart, TAS 7000.

Phone: (03) 6212 2220

Email: todd.buttsworth@parliament.tas.gov.au

Mark Shelton MP CHAIR