

1857.

TASMANIA.

HAWKERS.

PETITION FROM CERTAIN HAWKERS PRAYING THAT THE 66TH CLAUSE OF THE HOBART TOWN IMPROVEMENT ACT MAY BE STRUCK OUT.

Presented by Mr. Dunn, and ordered by the House to be printed, 10 December, 1857.



To the Honourable the Members of the House of Assembly of Tasmania, in Parliament assembled.

The humble Petition of the undersigned Licensed Hawkers and Dealers in the City of Hobart Town.

MOST RESPECTFULLY SHOWETH:

That your Petitioners learn with unfeigned astonishment and regret, that a Bill is now before your Honourable House, intituled "The Hobart Town Improvement Act," the Sixty-six (66th) Clause of which prohibits Hawking within the limits of the City, save and except such articles as are therein mentioned.

That your Petitioners view with the utmost alarm the fearful and injurious effects which the said Clause will have upon persons of their occupation, should it be passed into law.

That many of your Petitioners, having invested the whole of their Capital in Goods chiefly required by the Residents of the City, are solely depending upon a Town connection for their support.

That your Petitioners cannot but believe that, in the present depressed state of trade, such a prohibition was entirely uncalled for; and should it be carried into effect, it will be the means of involving them in utter ruin and destitution, inasmuch as they will be deprived of the only legitimate means they possess of obtaining a livelihood.

That your Petitioners would earnestly and most respectfully urge upon your Honourable House the serious necessity of re-considering the aforesaid Clause, and trust that you will be pleased to strike it out of the Act.

And your Petitioners, as in duty bound, will ever pray.

Elioenai Stracey Sharp]
Ann Haselam
George Smith
James Whitworth
Wm. Clark
Thomas Powes
James Jeffries
Robert Barsley
Frederick Flood

James Kennon
Edward Tarleton
Joseph Small
Marmaduke Abbey
Joshua Simmons
William Howard
E. C. Spencer
Henry Russell
Philip Stafford

William Haselam Thomas Haywood Robert Stewart Daniel Goldsmith Joseph Beesmore R. Thompson M. Pennington