

Parliament of Tasmania

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE

WORKING ARRANGEMENTS OF THE PARLIAMENT

REPORT NO. 17

TIMING OF GOVERNMENT BUSINESSES SCRUTINY HEARINGS

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Mr Aird MLC (Chair) Mrs Smith MLC Mr Wilkinson MLC Mr Wing MLC Mrs Jackson MHA Mr Llewellyn MHA Mrs Napier MHA Ms Putt MHA

INTRODUCTION

The Committee was established by both Houses of the Tasmanian Parliament at the commencement of the First Session of the Forty-fourth Parliament on 7 October 1998. The Terms of Reference for the Committee are set out below.

1

TERMS OF REFERENCE

That a Joint Select Committee be appointed with power to send for persons and papers, with leave to sit during any adjournment of either House and with leave to adjourn from place to place, and with leave to report from time to time, to inquire into and report upon —

- (1) Measures for reform which may improve the performance and efficiency of the Parliament and its Members having particular regard to, but not confined by, a consideration of
 - (a) the Statement of Principles agreed to by resolution of the Legislative Council on the 3rd and 4th day of September 1997;
 - (b) the procedures for the resolution of dispute and deadlocks between both Houses including standing order provisions and Parliamentary custom and conventions;
 - (c) the system of Statutory Standing, Joint Sessional and Joint Select Committees of both Houses, their roles, functions and relevance to contemporary Parliamentary practice;
 - (d) whether a separate Appropriation Act for—
 - (i) the Parliament;
 - (ii) the Auditor-General's office;
 - (iii) the Ombudsman's Office;
 - (iv) the Electoral Office;

is desirable.

- (e) and any other matters incidental thereto.
- (2) That the Committee be authorised to disclose or publish, as it thinks fit, any evidence or document presented to it prior to such evidence being reported to either House.
- (3) That the Committee finalise its report by 31 March 1999.*

*Since the initial establishment of the Committee, it has been reconstituted as necessary following prorogations to allow for the continuation of its enquiries. The latest re-establishment of the Committee occurred on 7 April 2004.

The Committee has tabled the following reports to date –

Report No. 1	Estimates
Report No. 2	Parliamentary Standing Committees
Report No. 3	Government Business Enterprises and Government Corporations Scrutiny Committees
Report No. 4	Review of the Estimates Committees Process November 1998
Report No. 5	Arrangements for the Opening of Parliament
Report No. 6	Citizen's Right of Reply
Report No. 7	New Parliamentary Committee System
Report No. 8	Committee Meeting Times and Resources
Report No. 9	Selection of Government Businesses for Scrutiny
Report No. 10	Acknowledgement of Traditional People
Report No. 11	Issues of Parliamentary Procedure
Report No. 12	E-Petitions
Report No. 13	Electronic Committee Meetings
Report No. 14	Dissenting Statements

Background:

The Committee considered the possibility of alternating the days of the Government Businesses Scrutiny Committees between the House of Assembly and the Legislative Council.

The House of Assembly operated its Committees on the Tuesday and Wednesday of the scrutiny week and the Legislative Council on the Thursday and Friday in 2005.

The Hon Sue Smith MLC proposed that these days be alternated each year for equity reasons.

It should be noted that this issue caused considerable debate in the Committee. The following motion was moved by Mr *Wing*:

"That the order in which Committees from each House meet to scrutinise Government Businesses alternate from year to year".

Mrs *Napier* moved that the Motion lay on the Table until the next meeting. It passed in the negative. The original motion was put and the votes were as follows:

Ayes Noes

Mr Aird Mrs Napier
Mr Llewellyn Ms Putt
Mrs Smith
Mr Wing
Mr Wilkinson

The motion was therefore agreed to.

Recommendation:

The Committee recommends that the order in which Committees from each House meet to scrutinise Government Businesses alternate from year to year.

Parliament House, Hobart 24 November 2005

Michael Aird MLC Chair