FACT SHEET

State Grants Commission Amendment Bill 2015

- This Bill amends the State Grants Commission Act 1976.
- The State Grants Commission Amendment Bill 2015:
 - Reduces the number of members of the State Grants Commission from four to three, comprising of two local government nominated members and a member nominated by the Secretary of the Department of Treasury and Finance (Treasury);
 - o Specifies that the Secretary of Treasury can nominate a person who has appropriate experience in business, financial or local government matters;
 - o Redefines the position of SGC Chair as the Treasury nominated person;
 - o Increases the maximum appointment term from three years to five years;
 - Redefines the number of members required to be present to make up a quorum for Commission meetings and removes the second casting vote powers currently existing in the Act. These changes are required as a consequence of the reduction in the number of members of the Commission; and
 - Removes a statutory officer role of the Secretary from the *State Grants Commission Act 1976*. This clause is substituted with a clause that specifies that the Secretary of Treasury must make available to the Commission staff and financial support who or that may be necessary to enable the Commission to exercise and perform the Commission's powers and functions required under the *State Grants Commission Act 1976*.