

Legislative Council Committee Inquiry

MEDIA RELEASE

14 APRIL 2015

Inquiry into The Tasmanian Electoral Commission – Commencement of Hearings

A reminder that the Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B' Inquiry into the operations of the Tasmanian Electoral Commission will begin its public hearings in **Hobart on Thursday**, **16 April 2015**.

The hearings will commence at 10 am in Committee Room 2 at Parliament House Hobart.

A list of witnesses is attached for your information.

Further information about the Inquiry, including its terms of reference and information for making submissions, is available on the Committee website: http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/ctee/Council/GovAdminB_TasmanianElectoralCommission.htm

ends

FURTHER INFORMATION: Chairperson Rosemary Armitage MLC

Mob: 0419 341 178



GOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE B

INQUIRY – TASMANIAN ELECTORAL COMMISSION

PUBLIC HEARINGS

COMMITTEE ROOM 2, PARLIAMENT HOUSE, HOBART

Thursday 16 April 2015

10.00 – 11.00 am	Local Government Association of Tasmania
	Allan Garcia, CEO
	Katrena Stephenson, Policy Director
11.00 – 11.30 am	Multicultural Association of Tasmania
	Anna Reynolds, CEO
11.30 – 12.00	Sophia Avery and Aksel Waechter
12.00 – 12.30 pm	Hobart City Council
	Lord Mayor Sue Hickey
	Nick Heath, General Manager

LUNCH - 12.30pm - 2.00pm

2.00 – 3.00 pm **Department of Justice**

Simon Overland, Secretary

Stephen Morrison, Finance Director

3.00 – 3.30 pm Kevin Bonham

3.30 – 4.00 pm **The Mercury**

Matt Deighton, Editor

Daniel Zeeman, Lawyer

Note: Hearing times may be subject to variation on the day