

Legislative Council Sessional Committee Government Administration 'A' INQUIRY INTO ENERGY PRICES IN TASMANIA

MEDIA ADVISORY

SUBMISSIONS NOW OPEN FOR NEW INQUIRY INTO ENERGY PRICES IN TASMANIA

Monday, 28 August 2023

The Legislative Council Sessional Committee Government Administration 'A' (the Committee) has resolved to establish an inquiry to inquire into energy prices in Tasmania with the following terms of reference —

- 1. Factors that impact energy prices for Tasmanian household and small and medium business customers, with particular reference to energy generation, distribution and retail costs;
- 2. Opportunities and challenges for the State of Tasmania as owners of power generation and transmission infrastructure; and
- 3. Any other matters incidental thereto.

Inquiry Chair the Hon. Ruth Forrest MLC said:

"The Committee acknowledges the significant cost of living pressures many Tasmanians are currently experiencing. Energy prices form a significant part of these costs.

This important inquiry seeks to better understand the factors that impact energy prices and consider how best Tasmanian consumers can be informed of these factors.

Opportunities and challenges related to the State ownership of our transmission and generation assets may assist in informing the Committee, the Government and consumers and seeking options to reduce these cost pressures for consumers."

The Committee welcomes submissions from interested stakeholders and members of the community. The closing date for submissions is 13 October 2023. An advertisement calling for submissions will be placed in the three regional newspapers on Saturday, 2 September 2023. For further information about this inquiry please visit the inquiry website: https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/committees/legislative-council/sessional-committees/govadmina/current-inquiries/inquiry-into-energy-prices-in-tasmania

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Hon Nick Duigan MLC Hon Luke Edmunds MLC (Inquiry Deputy Chair) Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Inquiry Chair) Hon Mike Gaffney MLC Hon Dean Harriss MLC Hon Sarah Lovell MLC

For further information, please contact the Inquiry Chair, Hon Ruth Forrest MLC, email: <u>epr@parliament.tas.gov.au</u>, mobile: 0419 879 524