

# Legislative Council

# **MEDIA RELEASE**

10 January 2013

## TASMANIAN FORESTS AGREEMENT BILL 2012– LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL INQUIRY

The Legislative Council Inquiry into the Tasmanian Forests Agreement Bill 2012 will commence with public hearings next week in Hobart from **Tuesday 15 until Thursday 17 January 2013.** Amongst the witnesses appearing during the week will be the signatories to the Tasmanian Forest Agreement 2012.

Further information about the Inquiry including the Terms of Reference, transcripts of hearings and published submissions are available and regularly updated at the following website: <u>http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/ctee/Council/Forests.htm</u>

In light of the significant public interest in the inquiry, the Hobart hearings will be broadcast through the Parliamentary broadcasting service.

ends

**MEDIA NOTE:** Details of witnesses appearing at the hearings are attached.

FURTHER INFORMATION: Paul Harriss MLC – 0409 977 430

#### LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL INQUIRY INTO THE TASMANIAN FORESTS AGREEMENT BILL 2012

### Public Hearings on Tuesday 15 to Thursday 17 January 2013

#### **Committee Room No.1, Parliament House, Hobart**

#### Tuesday 15 January 2013

9.00am – 10.15am	Tasmanian Government Representatives, Mr Rhys Edwards – Secretary DPAC, Mr Norm McIlfatrick – Secretary DIER, Mr Mark Kelleher – Secretary DED, Mr Gary Swain, Deputy Secretary DPIPWE, Ms Penny Wells - Manager (Major Projects) DPIPWE (Individual representatives TBC).
10.15am – 11.45am	Forest Industries Association of Tasmanian (FIAT), Mr Terry Edwards - CEO and Australian Forest Products Association, Dr Hans Drielsma - Director
12.00pm – 1.00pm	Australian Forest Contractors Association (AFCA), Mr Ken Padgett - Director
LUNCH BREAK	
2.00pm – 3.00pm	Tasmanian Forest Contractors Association, Mr Ed Vincent – Executive Officer
3.00pm – 4.00pm	Australian Conservation Foundation, Mr Don Henry - CEO
4.00pm – 5.00pm	Timber Communities Australia, Mr Jim Adams - CEO

5.00pm – 6.00pm

Wednesday 16 January 2013	
9.00am – 10.00am	Environment Tasmania – Dr Phill Pullinger
10.00am – 11.00am	Wilderness Society of Tasmania, Mr Vica Bayley – Campaign Director
11.15am – 12.15pm	CFMEU – Forestry and Furnishing Products Division, Ms Jane Calvert - Secretary
LUNCH BREAK	
1.00pm – 2.00pm	Tasmanian Tourism Industry Council, Mr Luke Martin - CEO
2.00pm – 3.00pm	Tasmanian Farmers and Grazier Association, Ms Jan Davis - CEO
3.15pm – 4.15pm	Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment, Mr Wes Ford, Acting Deputy Secretary, Resources and Information, Ms Penny Wells, Manager Major Projects, Mr Mark Bryce, Director Operations (Parks), Mr Peter Mooney, Deputy Secretary Parks (Individual representatives TBC).
4.15pm – 5.15pm	Tasmanian Minerals Council, Mr Terry Long - CEO
Thursday 17 January 2013	

9.00am – 10.00am	Tasmanian Conversation Trust, Mr Peter
	McGlone - Director

10.00am – 11.00am	Australian Forest Growers, Mr Warwick Ragg - CEO
11.15am – 12.15pm	Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (TCCI), Mr Andrew Heap, Mr Michael Bailey, Phil Bailey
LUNCH BREAK	
1.00pm – 2.00pm	Forest Practices Authority, Mr Graham Wilkinson – Chief Forest Practices Officer
2.00pm – 3.00pm	Local Government Association of Tasmania, Mr Allan Garcia - CEO
3.00pm – 4.00pm	Forestry Tasmania, Mr Bob Annells – Chairman, Mr Bob Gordon – Managing Director and Mr Steve Whiteley – Operations Manager