## DRAFT SECOND READING SPEECH HON WILL HODGMAN MP

## Constitution Amendment (House of Assembly Electoral Boundaries) Bill 2018

\*check Hansard for delivery\*

I move – That the Constitution Amendment (House of Assembly Electoral Boundaries) Bill 2018 now be read for the second time.

The Commonwealth recently reviewed the House of Representatives boundaries in Tasmania. This review was part of an independent redistribution of federal electoral boundaries, required under the *Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918*.

The previous redistribution of the federal electoral boundaries in Tasmania was completed in 2009.

The redistribution of electoral boundaries usually reflects population changes to ensure an even and fair allocation of voters among the electorates. Having even electorates is an important element of retaining 'fairness' in our voting system and indeed our democracy.

On 14 November 2017, the Commonwealth augmented Electoral Commission for Tasmania announced new boundaries for the federal electorates in Tasmania. The augmented Commission consisted of the three members of the Australian Electoral Commission, the Australian Electoral Officer for Tasmania, Mr David Molnar, the Surveyor-General of Tasmania, Mr Michael Giudici, and the Auditor-General of Tasmania, Mr Rod Whitehead.

The augmented Commission also announced that the division of 'Denison' be renamed to the division of 'Clark'. This name change recognises the role of Andrew Inglis Clark in the creation of the Australian Federation.

The new name and boundary changes will apply from the next federal election. However, these Commonwealth changes do not automatically apply as State electoral boundaries in Tasmania.

In the past, the Tasmanian Parliament has chosen to adopt the Commonwealth House of Representatives boundaries for the purposes of House of Assembly divisions by amending the *Constitution Act 1934* to ensure they coincide.

Therefore, to avoid any confusion to Tasmanians who are accustomed to voting in the same division at State and Federal elections, it is both desirable and practical that identical divisional boundaries continue. The amendments to Schedule 4 of the Act do this.

I will now summarise the changes to the boundaries of the five divisions.

The division of Bass gained the entirety of the municipality of West Tamar from Lyons. Bass therefore contains the City of Launceston and the municipalities of Dorset, Flinders, George Town and West Tamar.

The division of Braddon gained the entirety of the municipality of Latrobe from Lyons. Braddon therefore contains the Cities of Burnie and Devonport and the municipalities of Central Coast, Circular Head, King Island, Latrobe, Waratah-Wynyard and West Coast.

The division of Denison was renamed the division of Clark and the south-western boundary of Denison has moved to the Huon Highway. Clark therefore contains the Cities of Glenorchy and Hobart, and part of the municipality of Kingborough.

In relation to the division of Franklin, areas of the municipality of the City of Clarence, including Richmond, have transferred from Franklin to Lyons and the area north of the Huon Highway, within the municipality of Kingborough, have transferred from Franklin to Clark. Franklin therefore contains part of the City of Clarence, the municipality of Huon Valley, part of the municipality of Kingborough and Macquarie Island.

The division of Lyons gained the entirety of the municipalities of Meander Valley from Bass and Brighton from Franklin. The municipality of West Tamar has transferred from Lyons to Bass, and the municipality of Latrobe has transferred from Lyons to Braddon. Lyons therefore contains part of the City of Clarence and the municipalities of Break O'Day, Brighton, Central Highlands, Derwent Valley, Glamorgan Spring Bay, Kentish, Meander Valley, Northern Midlands, Sorell, Southern Midlands and Tasman.

As a result of these changes, some voters are currently enrolled in a House of Assembly division that is different to their Federal division.

The Commonwealth electoral role is already maintained on the basis of the new boundaries. The State electoral roll can be similarly maintained as soon as the *Constitution Amendment (House of Assembly Electoral Boundaries) Bill 2018* is enacted.

Madam Speaker, at the commencement of a new Parliamentary year, I felt it important to progress these amendments as a matter of priority to provide clarity to Tasmanians about which electorate they belong to moving forward.

I commend the Bill to the House.