

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL GOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE 'B' SUB COMMITTEE INQUIRY INTO BLUEBERRY RUST

The Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B' has recently determined to inquire into and report upon the outbreaks of blueberry rust in Tasmania with particular reference to:

- 1. The actions taken by Biosecurity Tasmania to address the 2014 and 2016 outbreaks of blueberry rust;
- 2. Past and present regulatory requirements relating to the blueberry industry in Tasmania;
- 3. The future of Tasmania's blueberry industry, including the impacts of previous, current and any future outbreaks of blueberry rust;
- 4. The capacity of Biosecurity Tasmania to manage blueberry rust outbreaks and other risks into the future; and
- 5. Any other matters incidental thereto.

The Committee invites written submissions from interested individuals or organisations addressing the above terms of reference. Electronic submissions are preferred and can be forwarded to the Inquiry Secretary via brt@parliament.tas.gov.au. Alternatively, written submissions can be forwarded to:

Ms Natasha Exel Inquiry Secretary Legislative Council Parliament House HOBART TAS 7000 Tel: (03) 6212 2245

Submissions should be received no later than close of business, Friday 13 October 2017

Submissions become the property of the Committee and should not be disclosed to any party prior to the Committee's final report. The Committee's Terms of Reference and other information are also available on the Parliament of Tasmania website (www.parliament.tas.gov.au) or by contacting the Inquiry Secretary.

Members of the Committee:

Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC, Member for Launceston Hon Ivan Dean MLC, Member for Windermere Hon Kerry Finch MLC, Member for Rosevears Hon Tania Rattray MLC, Member for McIntyre Hon Josh Willie MLC, Member for Elwick