

Legislative Council

MEDIA RELEASE

20 December 2012

TASMANIAN FORESTS AGREEMENT – LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL INQUIRY

The Legislative Council inquiry into the forest peace deal will commence public hearings in Hobart on **Tuesday 15 January 2013**.

Huon MLC Paul Harriss, who will chair the Select Committee, said the legislation, which was rushed through the lower house in late November, would now be thoroughly scrutinised and additional information sought as required.

"There are many issues that have been raised in relation to the government's legislation and this inquiry will provide an appropriate opportunity for the committee to seek further information in accordance with proper parliamentary procedures".

Mr Harrriss said the committee would seek evidence from stakeholders during the inquiry through written submissions and public hearings.

"This inquiry is an opportunity to ensure the best possible legislation is considered by Parliament and that as many stakeholders as possible have the opportunity to have their say".

"The Committee clearly understands the inquiry needs to be completed as speedily as possible so public submissions are to be received by **Friday 18 January 2013**".

ends

Media Note: Inquiry Terms of Reference are attached.

FURTHER INFORMATION: Paul Harriss MLC - 0409 977 430



TERMS OF REFERENCE

TASMANIAN FORESTS AGREEMENT

To inquire into and report upon —

- (1) The Tasmanian Forests Agreement Bill 2012 (No. 30); and
- (2) Any other matters incidental thereto.

Members of the Committee:

Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC, Member for Launceston

Hon Ivan Dean MLC, Member for Windermere

Hon Craig Farrell MLC, Member for Derwent

Hon Ruth Forrest MLC, Member for Murchison

Hon Michael Gaffney MLC, Member for Latrobe

Hon Dr Vanessa Goodwin MLC, Liberal Member for Pembroke

Hon Greg Hall MLC, Member for Western Tiers

Hon Paul Harriss MLC, Member for Huon

Hon Tony Mulder MLC, Member for Rumney

Hon Tania Rattray MLC, Member for Apsley

Hon Adriana Taylor MLC, Member for Elwick

Hon Rob Valentine MLC, Member for Hobart

Hon Jim Wilkinson MLC, Member for Nelson