

Workplace Culture Oversight

MEETING COMMUNIQUE

Tuesday, 3 September 2024

On 3 September 2024, the Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) met and resolved that the WRA Report be released at a Town Hall Presentation to all parliamentary staff including Legislative Council Electorate Officers (online attendance will be made available). An invitation will be extended to the CPSU. Please note: EAP service will be made available to provide onsite and virtual services. The Committee authorised the Clerks to set an appropriate date and time for release, noting this will not occur on a sitting day.

The Town Hall Presentation will open with the IPM and Workplace Research Associates (WRA) providing a briefing methodology, findings and recommendations. The Clerks will proceed to speak to the WRA Report Recommendations.

The WRA Report will be published on the Committee's website following the Town Hall Presentation.

The Committee notes this presentation focuses on parliamentary staff and has requested the Clerks of the Parliament, DPAC Secretary and IPM collaborate to facilitate presentation of the WRA Report to Premier and Ministerial Services (PAMS) staff.

Further, at this meeting the Committee considered the IPM's proposed project plan table which coordinates responsibilities between Parliament, DPAC (Manager, PAMS, MPS Unit) and the Independent Project Team for implementing future Motion for Respect Recommendations to avoid duplication. The Committee has requested feedback from the DPAC Secretary and Clerks in relation to the IPMs proposed project plan table.

The Committee is scheduled to meet next Tuesday, 12 September and receive a briefing project update from the IPM.

The latest Implementation Tracker is available on the Committee's webpage.

The Committee notes the importance of this review and encourages employees across each employee group to become fully informed and engaged to collectively work towards providing a better workplace for all employees.

The Committee further notes that change can be challenging and commits to providing ongoing updates to inform all interested parties.

For further information regarding the Committee's activity in overseeing implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations, Implementation Trackers are available on the Committee's webpage to enable all interested parties, including all current and past employees of the MPS Workplace (as defined by the Motion for Respect Report to include elected Members of Parliament, Ministerial and Parliamentary Support employees, Parliament House employees and people performing contracted services) to access updated information in relation to progress of implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations.

These documents will be updated regularly and any further relevant information provided to the Committee related to progress of the recommendations to ensure all interested parties have access to current information.

Membership of the Committee (Fifty-First Parliament) —

House of Assembly

The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Deputy Chair)
The Speaker, the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MP
Mrs Rebekah Pentland MP
Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP

Legislative Council

The President, the Hon Craig Farrell MLC
Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)
Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC
Hon Sarah Lovell MLC
ends