## **Media Release**



## House of Assembly Select Committee on Housing Affordability

## Friday 14 June 2019

On Tuesday 1 May 2019, the House of Assembly resolved that a Select Committee be appointed to inquire into Housing Affordability.

The Members of the Committee are: Ms Jen Butler, MP Ms Cassy O'Connor, MP (Deputy Chair) Ms Joan Rylah, MP Ms Alison Standen, MP (Chair) Mr John Tucker, MP

Public notices will be placed in all three major Tasmanian newspapers on Saturday 15 June 2019, inviting submissions to the House of Assembly Select Committee on Housing Affordability.

Committee Chair, Alison Standen MP, said "all Tasmanians who have an interest in, or experiences relating to housing affordability are invited to make a submission."

"We would like to hear from people and organisations who have evidence they believe should come before the Inquiry, or who can offer a particular perspective on aspects of housing affordability," Ms Standen said.

"As Committee members we will examine all submissions received, hear evidence and present recommendations to government. Depending on the information received through the submission process, we also intend to conduct public hearings across the State."

"For people with important information who may be concerned about the possible implications of presenting this information, we can take submissions and evidence in private."

Closing date for submissions is **19 July 2019** with hearings to be conducted in August and September. The Terms of Reference can be obtained from the Parliament of Tasmania's website.

The Committee hopes to report to Parliament by 15 October 2019

Contact – Alison Standen MP, Chairperson - 0408167805