MEDIA RELEASE



House of Assembly Standing Committee on Community Development

7 August 2015

Inquiry into Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal people as Tasmania's First People

The Committee will be holding public hearings in Launceston on 12 August 2015 and Hobart on 14 August 2015 in relation to its inquiry into Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal people as Tasmania's First People.

The Committee will hear from noted academics, community organisations, indigenous organisations and members of the public.

Submissions received by the Committee are available on the Parliament's website: <u>www.parliament.tas.gov.au</u>.

The schedule for the the hearings is:

Time	Witness	Organisation
-		
10.30 am	Michael Mansell	Aboriginal Provisional Government
11:10 am	Peter Rowe	
11:30 am	David Houghton	
11:50 am	BREAK	
12:35 pm	Father Frank Brennan	Australian Catholic University
1:15 pm	Mark Brown	Australian Christian Lobby
1:35 pm	Emma Lee	Melythina Tiakanna Warrana Aboriginal
		Corporation

Wednesday 12 August 2015 at Henty House, Launceston

Friday 14 August 2015 at Parliament House, Hobart

Time	Witness	Organisation
10.30 am	Rodney Dillon	Weetapoona Aboriginal Corporation
11:00 am	Rev. Jeff Gray	Tasmanian Council of Churches
11:20 am	Prof. Maggie Walter	University of Tasmania
11:50 am	BREAK	
12:35 pm	Prof. Henry Reynolds	University of Tasmania

Members of the Committee are:

Mr Guy. Barnett, MP- (Chair) Ms Sarah. Courtney, MP Mr Roger Jaensch, MP Ms Cassy O'Connor, MP Ms Madeline Ogilvie MP

For further information, please contact: Guy Barnett MP, Chair, ph 0428 622 333