

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SELECT COMMITTEE

GREATER HOBART TRAFFIC CONGESTION

The Legislative Council has established a Select Committee to inquire into and report upon traffic congestion in the Greater Hobart area with the following Terms of Reference —

- (1) The scope of Greater Hobart's traffic congestion and its impact on the community and economy;
- (2) Causes of congestion, including physical and topographical barriers;
- (3) Strategic planning processes between Commonwealth, State and Local governments;
- (4) Future initiatives to address traffic congestion in the Greater Hobart area; and
- (5) Any other matters incidental thereto.

The Committee invites written submissions from interested individuals or organisations. **Electronic submissions are encouraged** and all submissions can be provided to:

The Secretary Legislative Council Select Committee – GHT Legislative Council Parliament House, HOBART 7000 ght@parliament.tas.gov.au Phone: (03) 6212 2245

The Committee's Terms of Reference and other information are also available on the Parliament of Tasmania website (<u>www.parliament.tas.gov.au</u>) or by contacting the Inquiry Secretary.

Submissions become the property of the Committee and are generally made publicly available via the Inquiry webpage prior to the Committee releasing its Final Report. However, authors of submissions should not publish their submission elsewhere until after the Committee has reported.

The Inquiry will accept confidential submissions upon request but it should be noted that confidential information cannot be subsequently used in the Inquiry's Final Report.

The Committee may contact some individuals or entities that make submissions to invite them to appear at public hearings. The Committee will not contact everyone who makes a submission but will review all submissions and use them to inform the Committee's work.

Submissions should reflect the Inquiry's Terms of Reference. The Inquiry cannot resolve individual disputes.

Submissions should be received by no later than close of business on Friday, 27 September 2019

Members of the Committee:

Mr Armstrong (Chair) Ms Howlett Ms Siejka Mr Valentine (Deputy Chair) Ms Webb