

Workplace Culture Oversight

MEETING COMMUNIQUE

Thursday, 13 February 2025

The Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) met with Mr Andrew Young to discuss the recommendations that he has taken carriage over from the IPM, noting these predominantly relate to Members.

The Committee resolved to write to all MPs advising of Mr Young's appointment and that Mr Young and the Motion for Respect Project Team (MRPT) have been directed to consult with all MPs in relation to the recommendations that relate to MPs. MPs have been requested to provide feedback on their preference for consultation to Mr Young and MRPT. Mr Young/MRPT to report back to the Committee on their findings.

The Committee received report updates from the Department of Premier and Cabinet and the Clerks of the Parliament. The February 2025 implementation tracker has been updated accordingly and is available on the Committee's webpage. The Committee is scheduled to next meet again on Tuesday, 11 March 2025.

The Committee notes the importance of this review and encourages employees across each employee group to become fully informed and engaged to collectively work towards providing a better workplace for all employees.

The Committee further notes that change can be challenging and commits to providing ongoing updates to inform all interested parties.

For further information regarding the Committee's activity in overseeing implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations, Implementation Trackers are available on the Committee's webpage to enable all interested parties, including all current and past employees of the MPS Workplace (as defined by the Motion for Respect Report to include elected Members of Parliament, Ministerial and Parliamentary Support employees, Parliament House employees and people performing contracted services) to access updated information in relation to progress of implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations.

These documents will be updated regularly and any further relevant information provided to the Committee related to progress of the recommendations to ensure all interested parties have access to current information.

Membership of the Committee (Fifty-First Parliament) —

House of Assembly

The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Deputy

Chair)

The Speaker, the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MP

Mrs Rebekah Pentland MP

Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP

ends

Legislative Council

The President, the Hon Craig Farrell MLC

Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)

Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC

Hon Sarah Lovell MLC