

PARLIAMENTARY STANDING COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

INQUIRY INTO GOVERNMENT OWNED ENERGY ENTITIES

In accordance with section 6(2)(a) of the *Public Accounts Committee Act 1970* the Public Accounts Committee resolved on 17 March 2016 to undertake an Inquiry into the financial position and performance of Government owned energy entities.

On 6 April 2016 the Committee resolved on the following Terms of Reference for the Inquiry:

To inquire into and report upon:

- 1. The financial positions of the Government owned energy entities (Aurora Energy, Tasmanian Networks and Hydro Tasmania) and their interrelationships, considering their recent financial reporting, including their half yearly financial statements and Corporate Plans;
- 2. Factors currently impacting on the financial performance of the energy entities;
- 3. Any strategies being implemented by the energy entities to address their current and future financial performance;
- 4. Past and current Government's energy security policies and management including risk management strategies and plans;
- 5. Past and current Government's and Government owned energy entities energy mix policy decisions and challenges; and
- 6. Any other matter incidental thereto.

The Committee invites written submissions or requests to present verbal evidence from interested individuals or organisations. **Electronic submissions are encouraged** and all submissions can be provided to:

Ms Gabrielle Woods Committee Secretary Public Accounts Committee Legislative Council Parliament House **Hobart 7000**

Phone No: 03 6212 2311

Submissions become the property of the Committee and should not be disclosed to any party prior to the Committee's final report. The Committee's Terms of Reference are also available on the Parliament of Tasmania website http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/ctee/Joint/pacc.htm

Submissions and requests should be received at the above address by **no later** than close of business on **16 May 2016.**

Members of the Committee:

Mr Scott Bacon MP
Ms Sarah Courtney MP (Deputy Chair)
Mr Ivan Dean MLC (Chair)
Ms Ruth Forrest MLC
Mrs Joan Rylah MP
Mrs Adriana Taylor MLC