FACT SHEET

Constitution Amendment (House of Assembly Electoral Boundaries) Bill 2018

The Constitution Amendment (House of Assembly Electoral Boundaries) Bill 2018 amends the Constitution Act 1934 to apply revised boundaries for House of Assembly electoral divisions and rename the Division of 'Denison' to 'Clark'.

The electoral boundaries for the Tasmanian division of the Commonwealth House of Representatives were recently reviewed and redistributed as required under the *Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918*. The Commonwealth's redistribution will apply from the next federal election.

The Commonwealth changes are not automatically adopted as State electoral boundaries in Tasmania. This means that some voters are currently enrolled in a Tasmanian House of Assembly division that is different to their federal division.

To avoid confusion in the minds of electors long accustomed to voting in the same division at State and Federal elections, the Tasmanian Parliament has chosen to adopt the Commonwealth House of Representatives boundaries for the purpose of House of Assembly divisions by amending the *Constitution Act 1934* to ensure they coincide.

Consistent with previous practice, the Bill seeks to re-align Tasmanian House of Assembly divisions with the new Commonwealth House of Representatives divisions.

Under the proposed amendments, the new electoral divisions will be as follows:

Bass will gain the entirety of the municipality of West Tamar from Lyons. Bass will therefore contain the City of Launceston and the municipalities of Dorset, Flinders, George Town and West Tamar.

Braddon will gain the entirety of the municipality of Latrobe from Lyons. Braddon will therefore contain the Cities of Burnie and Devonport and the municipalities of Central Coast, Circular Head, King Island, Latrobe, Waratah-Wynyard and West Coast.

Denison will be renamed the division of Clark and the south-western boundary of Denison has moved to the Huon Highway. Clark will therefore contain the Cities of Glenorchy and Hobart, and part of the municipality of Kingborough.

Franklin transfers areas of the municipality of Clarence, including Richmond, to Lyons and the area north of the Huon Highway, within the municipality of Kingborough, to Clark. Franklin will therefore contain part of the City of Clarence, the municipality of Huon Valley, part of the municipality of Kingborough and Macquarie Island.

Lyons will gain the entirety of the municipalities of Meander Valley from Bass and Brighton from Franklin. The division of Lyons transfers the municipality of West Tamar to Bass, and the municipality of Latrobe to Braddon. Lyons will therefore include part of the City of Clarence and the municipalities of Break O'Day, Brighton, Central Highlands, Derwent Valley, Glamorgan Spring Bay, Kentish, Meander Valley, Northern Midlands, Sorell, Southern Midlands and Tasman.