

## **Legislative Council Select Committee**

## **MEDIA ADVISORY**

### **MONDAY 5 DECEMBER 2022**

# Inquiry into the Provisions of the University of Tasmania Act 1992

The Legislative Council Select Committee inquiring into the provisions of the *University of Tasmania Act* 1992 will commence public hearings in Hobart on <u>Tuesday, 6 December 2022</u>.

The hearings will continue in Hobart on Wednesday 7 December 2022 and Thursday 8 December 2022.

The hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 1:00 pm on Tuesday, 6 December 2022. The hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service at <a href="https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au">https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au</a>

TIMETABLE FOR THE HEARINGS AND DETAILS OF THE WITNESSES ARE ATTACHED.

Members of the Committee are:

Hon Nick Duigan MLC
Hon Mike Gaffney MLC
Hon Sarah Lovell MLC
Hon Rob Valentine MLC (Chair)
Hon Meg Webb MLC (Deputy Chair)

| For further information: Hon Rob Vale | tine MLC. Inquiry Chair - 0418 12 | 7 323 |
|---------------------------------------|-----------------------------------|-------|
|---------------------------------------|-----------------------------------|-------|

ends



# Legislative Council Select Committee Inquiry into the Provisions of the University of Tasmania Provisions Act 1992

#### **PUBLIC HEARINGS**

Venue: Committee Room No. 2, Parliament House, Hobart

#### **TUESDAY 6 DECEMBER 2022**

1:00 pm – 1:55 pm Public Universities Australia (Webex)

Professor Hans Zoellner

Manuel Graeber (Submission #27)

2:00 pm – 2:45 pm Australian Association of University Professors (UTAS Chapter)

Adjunct Associate Professor John Kenny

(Submission #46)

**BREAK** 

3:00 pm – 3:45 pm Dr Damian Bugg AM QC

(Submission #101)

3:50 pm – 4:35 pm SAVE UTAS CAMPUS

Professor Pam Sharpe, Chair Michael Foster, Deputy Chair

(Submission #149)

**WEDNESDAY 7 DECEMBER 2022** 

9:00 am – 9:45 am Dr Sharon Rider (Webex)

(Submission #41)

9:55 am – 10:40 am James Guthrie

(Submission #3)

**BREAK** 

11:00 am – 11:45 am Emeritus Professor Stuart McLean

(Submission #14)

11:55 am – 12:40 pm Emeritus Distinguished Professor Jeff Malpus

(Submission #97)

**LUNCH** 

1:40 pm - 2:25 pm **Professor James Kirkpatrick AM (Webex)** (Submission #19) 2:30 pm - 3:15 pm **Peter Bicevskis** (Submission #114) **BREAK** 3:30 pm - 4:15 pm **Emeritus Professor Brian Yates** (Submission #55) **THURSDAY 8 DECEMBER 2022 National Tertiary Education Union** 9:00 am - 10:00 am TBC(Submission #123) Pat McConville (webex) 10:00 am - 10:40 am

(Submission #100)