

Select Committee on Transfer of Care Delays (Ambulance Ramping)

The House of Assembly has appointed a Select Committee to inquire into and report upon the following Terms of Reference:-

- (a) the causes of transfer of care delays, acknowledging Federal and State responsibilities;
- (b) the effect transfer of care delays has on: -
 - (i) patient care and outcomes;
 - (ii) ambulance response times and availability;
 - (iii) wellbeing of healthcare staff;
 - (iv) Emergency department and other hospital functions;
- (c) the adequacy of the State Government's data collection and reporting for transfer of care delays;
- (d) the State Government's response to transfer of care delays and its effects to date, and the efficacy of these measures;
- (e) measures taken by other Australian and international jurisdictions to mitigate transfer of care delays and its effects;
- (f) further actions that can be taken by the State Government in the short, medium, and long term to address the causes and effects of transfer of care delays; and
- (g) any other related matters incidental thereto.

The Committee invites interested persons or organisations to make written submissions to the Committee by the closing date of **Friday**, **13 October**, **2023**.

Submissions become Committee documents. Persons making submissions must not release them without the approval of the Committee. Submissions are protected by parliamentary privilege but the unauthorised release of them is not. The Committee encourages the lodgement of submissions in electronic form. Emailed submissions must include name, phone number and postal address.

Enquires and submissions should be directed to:-

The Secretary, Select Committee on Transfer of Care Delays (Ambulance Ramping), House of Assembly, Parliament House, Hobart, TAS, 7000, or email: transferofcare@parliament.tas.gov.au

Dr Rosalie Woodruff, MP Committee Chair