

Joint Standing Committee on Community Development

Inquiry into Amendments to the Relationships (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2003

The Hon. Judy Jackson MHA, Attorney-General, has requested that the Joint Standing Parliamentary Committee on Community Development inquire into and report upon the clauses which were omitted from the *Relationships (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2003* by an amendment of the Legislative Council.

The omitted clauses relate to a child being born as a result of a fertilisation procedure to a woman in a same sex relationship.

- (1) **Proposed section 10C (1A)** *Status of Children Act 1974* deemed the woman's same sex partner to be the other parent of the child; and
- (2) **Proposed section 29 (4a)** *Adoption Act 1988* provided that the non-birth parent was to be a party whose consent would be required in the event of the child being relinquished.

These clauses were originally included in *The Relationships (Consequential Amendments Bill) 2003* as they were seen to be consistent with one of the principal purposes of the Bill, which was to provide the fullest possible protection to the children of Tasmanians living in same sex relationships.

The Committee invites comment from interested individuals and organizations through written submissions to be forwarded to the Secretary prior close of business on Friday 26 September 2003.

Submissions become Committee documents and are made public only after a decision by the Committee. Persons making submissions must not release them without the approval of the Committee. Submissions are protected by parliamentary privilege but the unauthorised release of them is not. The Committee encourages the lodgement of submissions in electronic form. Emailed submissions must include name, phone number and postal address. Guidelines for witnesses and the preparation of a submission are available on the internet at http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/, or by phoning the Secretary on 62 33 3098.

The Secretary
Community Development Committee
Parliament House
Hobart 7000

Ph. (03) 6233 2248 Fax (03) 6233 8103

Email committees@parliament.tas.gov.au