ORDER OF BOTH HOUSES RE-ESTABLISHING

THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AND ENVIRONMENT, RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (Tuesday 4 March 2008)

- (1) That the joint standing committees on community development and environment, resources and development be reappointed to inquire into and report upon any issues and legislative proposals arising within the scope of the committees as set out below -
- (2) Scope of the two committees -
 - (a) Community Development Committee health, welfare, education, justice and law; sports and recreation; racing and gaming; public sector operations; arts, cultural development; and community quality of life.
 - (b) Environment, Resources and Development Committee Government Business Enterprises; regulation of business, commerce and industrial relations; economic and finance development; environment and land use planning; natural resources forestry, mining and fisheries; energy; tourism; transport; and primary industry.
- (3) Each committee shall consist of eight members.
- (4) The membership of each of the committees shall be as follows:
 - (a) Legislative Council four members appointed by the Council.
 - (b) House of Assembly four members appointed by the House two nominated by the Government; one nominated by the Opposition and one nominated by the Tasmanian Greens.

Members who are not members of the committees may participate in proceedings by asking questions of witnesses at the discretion of the chair, but may not vote, move any motion or be counted for the purposes of a quorum.

- (5) Each member of the committees shall have a deliberative vote only.
- (6) (a) It shall be open to any member of a committee to nominate in writing to the chair of the committee a proxy to attend any meeting of the committee on behalf of the member. A proxy member shall exercise all the rights of an appointed member including voting rights at any meeting of a committee.
 - (b) If a permanent vacancy occurs in the membership of a committee either House shall, where appropriate, appoint a member in substitution.

- (7) A quorum for any meeting of a committee shall be three, of whom one is the chair of the committee or deputy chair, when the committee is hearing evidence but shall be four when deliberating and such deliberative quorum shall not consist exclusively of members of one House only.
- (8) References can be made to the committees in the following manner -
 - (a) by resolution of either House; or
 - (b) by a minister of the Crown;
 - (c) by the committee's own motion, including public submissions.
- (9) (a) Except as provided in (b), the committees shall conduct all their affairs in public unless the committee by majority vote determines it is in the public interest to take evidence and/or deliberate in private.
 - (b) In deliberating or in taking evidence on matters which are 'commercial-in-confidence' the committee shall sit in private.
- (10) That the committees have the power to send for person and papers, with leave to sit during any adjournment of either House exceeding 14 days, with leave to adjourn from place to place and with leave to report from time to time.

And that the minutes of proceedings of, evidence taken by, and references made to the committees by previous resolutions be referred.