

Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Media Advisory

Tuesday, 1 November 2022

Public Hearing:

Tasmanian Government's continuing response to the COVID-19 pandemic

The Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Committee) is undertaking an inquiry into the into the Tasmanian Government's continuing response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The areas to be covered in the inquiry include measures taken by the Government, including relevant Public Health advice, to prepare for the State border re-opening on 15 December 2021, the return to school, the vaccination rollout, business support and the Covid-19 Tasmanian Check-in app.

The Committee will conduct a public hearing to obtain further details from submissions to the Inquiry.

The hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 9:00 am on Wednesday, 2 November 2022. The timetable and details of witnesses are attached.

The public hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service and will be available at the following link http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/.

The Members of the Committee are:

Legislative Council
Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)
Hon Meg Webb MLC
Hon Josh Willie MLC

Ms Lara Alexander MP
Dr Shane Broad MP
Mr John Tucker MP

Further information about the Committee is available on the **Committee website**.

ends

Further information: Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) - 0419 879 524



Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Public Hearing Schedule

Public Hearing:

Tasmanian Government's continuing response to the COVID-19 pandemic

Date: Wednesday, 2 November 2022

Venue: Committee Room 2 – Parliament House, Hobart

Time	Witnesses
9:00 am – 10:00 am	Mr David Genford (President) Mr Brian Wightman (State Manager) Mr Steven Smith (Senior Industrial Advocate) Australian Education Union (Tasmanian Branch)
10:00 am – 11:00 am	Early Childhood Australia (Tasmania Branch)
11:00 am – 12:00 noon	Adjunct Associate Professor Lisa Denny Ms Amelia Jones Emeritus Professor Michael Rowan Tasmanian 100% Literacy Alliance
12:00 noon – 1:00 pm	Ms Leanne McLean (Commissioner) Commissioner for Children and Young People Tasmania