

## Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B'

## **Invitation for Submissions**

Friday, 10 February 2023

## Inquiry into Tasmanian Adult Imprisonment and Youth Detention Matters

On 27 October 2022, in accordance with the Legislative Council Sessional Order 5(14), Government Administration Committee 'B' resolved to form a committee to conduct an inquiry on the following Terms of Reference:

To inquire into and report upon Tasmanian corrective services and justice system matters related to adult imprisonment and youth detention including:

- 1. Factors influencing increases in Tasmania's prisoner population and associated costs;
- 2. The use of evidence-based strategies to reduce contact with the justice system and recidivism;
- 3. The provision of, and participation in, services for people in prison and leaving prison (health housing and legal services);
- 4. Training and support initiatives for corrective service staff related to increasing individual well-being, professionalism, resilience and reduced absenteeism;
- 5. Innovations and improvements to the management and delivery of corrective services that may be applied in Tasmania, including to future prison/detention centre design; and
- 6. Any other incidental matters.

The Committee invites written submissions from interested individuals or organisations. **Electronic submissions are encouraged** and all submissions can be provided to:

Simon Scott

Committee Secretary

Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B'

Parliament House

HOBART TAS 7000

Email: csjs@parliament.tas.gov.au

Phone: (03) 6212 2245

The Committee's Terms of Reference and other relevant information (including 'How to Make a Submission') are also available on the Parliament of Tasmania website (www.parliament.tas.gov.au) or by contacting the Committee Secretary.

Submissions become the property of the Committee and are generally made publicly available via the Inquiry webpage<sup>1</sup> prior to the Committee releasing its Final Report. However, authors of submissions **should not** publish their submission elsewhere until after the Committee has reported. The Inquiry **may** accept confidential submissions but it should be noted that confidential information cannot be subsequently used in the Inquiry's Final Report. The Inquiry cannot consider or resolve any individual disputes.

Submissions will be received by no later than close of business on Friday, 31 March 2023.

Members of the Committee are:

Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC
Hon Jane Howlett MLC
Hon Tania Rattray MLC (Chair)
Hon Rob Valentine MLC
Hon Meg Webb MLC
Hon Josh Willie MLC

1