

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SESSION OF 2022

(SECOND SESSION OF THE FIFTIETH PARLIAMENT)

NOTICES OF MOTION AND ORDERS OF THE DAY

No. 8

WEDNESDAY, 1 JUNE 2022

(At 11.00 o'clock a.m.)

ORDERS OF THE DAY

- 1 Youth Justice Amendment (Searches in Custody) Bill 2022 (No. 9): Third Reading
- 2 Land Tax Amendment (Foreign Investors) Bill 2022 (No. 17): Second reading.
- 3 Land Tax Rating Amendment (Foreign Investors) Bill 2022 (No. 16): Second reading.
- 4 Adjourned Debate (Ms *Webb*) on the Question proposed on 26 May 2022 and again on 31 May 2022 That the Budget Papers and Appropriation Bills (No.1 and No. 2) 2022 be noted.
- 5 Duties Amendment Bill 2022 (No. 18): Second reading.
- 6 Police Offences Amendment (Workplace Protection) Bill 2022 (No. 15): Second reading.
- **7** Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts "Review of Auditor-General's Report No. 4 of 2016-17: Event Funding": Consideration and noting. (Ms *Forrest*)
- **8** Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts "Review of Auditor-General's Report No. 8 of 2018-19: Student Attendance and Engagement, Years 7 To 10": Consideration and noting. (Ms *Forrest*)
- **9** Report of the Legislative Council Government Administration Committee "A" Inquiry into Finfish Farming in Tasmania: Consideration and noting. (Ms *Webb*)
- **10** Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts Review of Selected Public Works Committee Reports 27 of 2015: Midland Highway, Mangalore to Bagdad Stage 1 and Midland Highway, Kempton to Melton Mowbray Stage 1; and 28 of 2015: Midland Highway, Perth to Breadalbane Duplication: Consideration and noting. (Ms *Forrest*)
- **11** Report of the Legislative Council Sessional Government Administration Committee 'B' on the Inquiry into Disability Services in Tasmania: Consideration and noting. (Ms *Siejka*)
- **12** Partition Bill 2022 (No. 22): Second reading.

NOTICES OF MOTION

- 1 Ms Forrest to move That a Joint Sessional Gender and Equality Committee be appointed with power to send for persons and papers, with leave to sit during any adjournment of either House and with leave to adjourn from place to place to inquire into and report upon —
- (1) (a) Any Bill referred to it by either House in order to examine gender and equality impacts;
 - (b) Any matter related to gender and equality referred to it by either House; and
 - (c) Any matter related to gender and equality, initiated by its own motion; and
- (2) That Notice of any own Motion Inquiry shall be reported to both Houses within two (2) sitting days of the Committee's Resolution; and

- (3) That the number of Members to serve on the said Committee on the part of the Legislative Council be four.
- 2 Mr Duigan to move That the Legislative Council —
- (1) Notes that Hydro Tasmania was named as a finalist for the 2021 Clean Energy Council Awards in the Community Engagement category for their COVID-19 Recovery Program to assist Tasmanian communities in overcoming the challenges associated with the pandemic;
- (2) Notes that Hydro Tasmania's program had two phases: the Sustain phase reassuring Tasmanians that essential energy generation would continue, while the Recovery phase partnered with community organisations to deliver initiatives to assist hard-hit sectors and vulnerable groups;
- (3) Acknowledges that the program enabled community organisations to help more people affected by the pandemic and delivered a range of positive community initiatives across Tasmania; and
- (4) Urges Hydro Tasmania to continue it endeavours to fully engage with the Tasmanian community as it develops its ongoing responses to deal with the COVID pandemic.
- 3 Ms *Palmer* to move That the Legislative Council —
- (1) Notes the importance Little Athletics and similar organisations play in the social, physical and mental wellbeing of Tasmanian children.
- (2) Notes the grounding Little Athletics has given to Tasmanian athletes who have gone on to represent Tasmania and Australia on the National and International stage.
- (3) Acknowledges the significant role volunteers play within such organisations.
- (4) Notes the overall positive contribution such organisations make to the fabric of the Tasmanian society.

D.T. PEARCE, Clerk of the Council.

PAPERS ISSUED

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Notice Paper No. 7

Bill No. 14

SUMMARY OF BILLS

Read First Time

	Read First Time
Bill No. 15	Police Offences Amendment (Workplace Protection).
Bill No. 16	Land Tax Rating Amendment (Foreign Investors).
Bill No. 17	Land Tax Amendment (Foreign Investors).
Bill No. 18	Duties Amendment.
Bill No. 22	Partition (pro forma).
	Awaiting Third Reading
Bill No. 9	Youth Justice Amendment (Searches in Custody).
	Agreed to by Both Houses
Bill No. 4	Criminal Code Amendment.
Bill No. 6	Land Tax Rating Amendment (Act No. 10 of 2022).
Bill No. 13	Forest Practices Amendment (Validation) (Act No. 11 of 2022).

STANDING COMMITTEES AND MEMBERS

Appropriation (Supplementary Appropriation for 2021/22).

Committee of Privileges: Mr Farrell (The President), Ms Forrest (Chair of Committees), Mr Gaffney, Mrs Hiscutt and Ms Rattray.

Standing Orders Committee: The President (Mr Farrell), The Chair of Committees (Ms Forrest), Mrs Hiscutt, Ms Rattray and Mr Valentine.

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works (Joint): Ms Rattray and Mr Valentine.

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Subordinate Legislation (Joint): Ms Forrest, Mrs Hiscutt and Ms Rattray.

Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Joint): Ms Forrest, Ms Webb and Mr Willie. Parliamentary Standing Committee on Integrity (Joint): Ms Armitage, Ms Palmer and Mr Valentine.

SESSIONAL COMMITTEES AND MEMBERS

House Committee (Joint): The President (Mr Farrell), Ms Forrest, Mrs Hiscutt. Library Committee (Joint): Ms Armitage, Mr Farrell, Ms Forrest, Ms Howlett, Ms Rattray and Mr Valentine. Government Administration A: Mr Duigan, Ms Forrest, Mr Gaffney, Mr Harriss, Ms Lovell and Ms Webb.

- Rural Health Services.
- The Roy Fagan Centre Short Inquiry Process (SIP).

Government Administration B: Ms Armitage, Ms Howlett, Ms Rattray, Ms Siejka, Mr Valentine and Mr Willie,

SELECT COMMITTEE AND MEMBERS

Road Safety in Tasmania: Ms Armitage, Ms Palmer, Ms Rattray and Mr Willie. University of Tasmania Act 1992: Mr Duigan, Mr Gaffney, Ms Siejka, Mr Valentine and Ms Webb. Estimates A: Mr Duigan, Ms Forrest, Mr Gaffney, Mr Harriss, Ms Lovell and Ms Webb. Estimates B: Ms Armitage, Ms Howlett, Ms Rattray, Ms Siejka, Mr Valentine and Mr Willie.