Constitution Amendment (House of Assembly Electoral Boundaries) Bill 2009

Fact Sheet

The Commonwealth recently conducted a review of the House of Representatives boundaries in Tasmania, under the Commonwealth Electoral Act. The process is similar to that required under state legislation for the redistribution of Legislative Council boundaries.

The redistribution has been completed and took effect on 16 February 2009.

Under the determination, the division of Bass gains Hadspen from Lyons and the balance of the Launceston City municipal area from Lyons in the vicinity of Franklin Village and Relbia Road.

The division of Denison gains part of the Kingborough municipal area generally north of Huon Highway and Browns Road from Franklin, including the localities of Neika, Firthside and Bonnet Hill.

The division of Franklin cedes Bridgewater and Gagebrook to Lyons and part of the Kingborough municipal areas generally north of the Huon Highway and Browns Road to Denison, including the localities of Neika, Firthside and Bonnet Hill. It gains the balance of the Clarence City municipal area from Lyons, including Richmond.

The division of Lyons cedes Hadspen to Bass and cedes the balance of the Launceston City municipal area to Bass in the vicinity of Franklin Village and Relbia Road. It cedes the West Coast municipal area to Braddon and gains the eastern portion of Latrobe municipal area contained in Western Tiers Legislative Council division (with minor exception) from Braddon. Lyons gains Bridgewater and Gagebrook from Franklin and cedes the balance of Clarence City municipal area including Richmond to Franklin.

To avoid confusion in the minds of electors long accustomed to voting in the same division at State and Federal elections, it is both desirable and practical that our identical divisional boundaries continue.

In the past the Tasmanian Parliament has consistently chosen to adopt the Commonwealth House of Representatives boundaries for the purpose of House of Assembly divisions and has agreed to amend the *Constitution Act 1934* to ensure they concide.