## **CLAUSE NOTES**

## Constitution Amendment (House of Assembly Electoral Boundaries) Bill 2018

Clause I: Short Title

The short title will be the Constitution Amendment (House of Assembly Electoral Boundaries) Bill 2018.

Clause 2: Commencement

The Amendment Act will commence on the day on which this act receives the Royal Assent.

Clause 3: Principal Act

The Principal Act to which the amendments apply is the Constitution Act 1934.

Clause 4: Section 22 amended

Section 22(4) of the Principal Act establishes the names of the divisions of the House of Assembly. This clause replaces the division of 'Denison' to 'Clark' in this list of divisions.

Clause 5: Schedule 4 substituted

This clause replaces the current Schedule 4 that contains descriptions of the five divisions (Bass, Braddon, Denison, Franklin and Lyons) that have been in place since 2009.

A new Schedule 4 is inserted to describe the new House of Assembly boundaries by reference to maps registered and held by the Surveyor General in the Central Plan Register. The schedule also substitutes the division of 'Denison' to 'Clark', consistent with the Commonwealth House of Representatives' naming of this electoral division.

Clause 6: Repeal of Act

This is a standard provision including in all Amendment Acts that provides for the repeal of the amending Act after its provisions have come into effect and been incorporated in the Principal Act.