FACT SHEET

Medical Radiation Science Professionals Registration (Repeal) Bill 2011

The Bill repeals the Medical Radiation Science Professionals Registration Act 2000 (MRSPRA), and makes consequential and statute law correction amendments. The Bill substantively takes effect on 1 July 2012.

On I July 2010 the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law (Tasmania) Act 2010 commenced. This Act applies the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law (the National Law) in Tasmania. From that date the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the Scheme) applies to ten health practitioner groups - nursing and midwifery; medicine; physiotherapy; psychology; optometry; chiropractic care; dental care (including dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists oral health therapists and dental prosthetists); osteopathy; podiatry and pharmacy.

From I July 2012 the Scheme and the National Law will also apply to four professions, being medical radiation practitioners, Chinese medicine practitioners, occupational therapists and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health practitioners.

Of these four professions, only medical radiation practitioners are regulated by statute in Tasmania, by the Medical Radiation Science Professionals Registration Board of Tasmania established under the MRSPRA.

In order to effect the transition and to avoid confusion with competing laws, the Bill will repeal the MRSPRA on I July 2012. The Bill makes consequential amendments, and statute law revisions to correct unrelated drafting issues in the *Health Complaints Act 1995*.

As was the case with the other professions when they entered the National Scheme, the Bill's amendment to the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law (Tasmania) Act 2010 to describe the MRSPRA as a 'former health practitioner registration Act' for the purposes of the scheme will trigger existing powers in the National Law to facilitate the transition.

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency is undertaking a staged implementation project for the four professions entering the Scheme on I July 2012. This includes implementing the transition from State and Territory registration to national registration for the professions who are regulated locally; commencing registration of practitioners for the four professions in States and Territories where they are not currently regulated; and developing mandatory registration standards and any other necessary instruments to support the registration of eligible practitioners commencing in the national registration by I July 2012.