

## Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'A'

## **MEDIA ADVISORY**

5 March 2021

## Sub-Committee Inquiry into Rural Health Services in Tasmania

On 21 December 2020, Government Administration Committee 'A' resolved to commence an inquiry into rural health services in Tasmania. On 21 January 2021 the Committee resolved to establish a Sub-Committee to conduct this inquiry.

The Sub-Committee undertook a site visit and meeting with senior management personnel at the Mersey Community Hospital, North West Regional Hospital and Smithton District Hospital on 11 February 2021, and intends to continue its program of site visits during March 2021.

This preliminary round of regional site visits will include a site tour of the Tasman Medical Centre, Dover Medical Centre, Scottsdale Medical Centre, St Mary's Community Health Centre, Queenstown Medical Centre and the King Island Hospital during March 2021. It is the intention of the Sub-Committee to extend an invitation to smaller medical centres in the vicinity of those outlined above to send representatives to these site visits.

## Members of the Committee are:

Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Inquiry Chair) Hon Mike Gaffney MLC Hon Sarah Lovell MLC Hon Bastian Seidel MLC (Inquiry Deputy Chair)

For further information please refer to the inquiry webpage which is located at: <a href="https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/ctee/Council/GovAdminA RuralHealth.htm">https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/ctee/Council/GovAdminA RuralHealth.htm</a>

For further information: Hon Ruth Forrest MLC, Inquiry Chair - 0419 879 524