

Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Media Advisory

Tuesday, 21 February 2023

Public Hearing:

Tasmanian Government's continuing response to the COVID-19 pandemic

The Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Committee) has been undertaking an inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's continuing response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The areas covered in the inquiry include measures taken by Government, including relevant Public Health advice, related to preparation for the State border re-opening on 15 December 2021, the return to school, the vaccination rollout, business support and the Covid-19 Tasmanian Check-in app.

The Committee's work has been interrupted by prorogation of Parliament and the suspension of Parliament following the passing of a condolence motion of both Houses in commemoration of the passing of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. The Committee will conduct a public hearing to obtain further details from submissions to finalise the Inquiry.

The hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 9:00 am on Thursday, 23 February 2023. The timetable and details of witnesses are attached.

The public hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service and will be available at the following link http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/.

The Members of the Committee are:

Legislative Council
Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)
Hon Meg Webb MLC
Hon Josh Willie MLC

House of Assembly
Ms Lara Alexander MP
Dr Shane Broad MP
Mr Dean Young MP

Further information about the Committee is available on the Committee website.

ends

Further information: Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) – 0419 879 524



Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Public Hearing Schedule

Public Hearing:

Tasmanian Government's continuing response to the COVID-19 pandemic

Date: Thursday, 23 February 2023

Venue: Committee Room 2 – Parliament House, Hobart

Time
 Witnesses
 9:00 am - 10:00 am
 Ms Ella Van Tienen (State Manager)
 Dr Shane Jackson (National Vice President)
 Pharmacy Society of Australia (Tasmania Branch)

 10:00 am - 11:00 am
 Mr Michael Bailey (Chief Executive Officer)
 Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

 11:00 am - 12:00 noon
 Dr John Saul (President)
 Dr Annette Barratt (Vice-President)

Australian Medical Association Tasmania