

# **Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts**

## Media Advisory

Wednesday, 26 April 2023

### **Public Hearings:**

Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the feasibility planning for a new sporting and event stadium in Hobart

The Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Committee) is undertaking a targeted inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the feasibility planning for a new sporting and event stadium in Hobart.

The Committee will consider amongst other factors the process used to select the Macquarie Point site, the costs (initial and future) of building, maintaining and operating the same, and the assumptions that underpin the feasibility and sustainability of the proposed Hobart stadium.

The Committee will conduct public hearings to obtain further details from submissions to the Inquiry.

The hearings will be held in Henty House, Launceston and Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 11:15 am on Thursday, 27 April and at 9:00 am on Friday, 28 April 2023 respectively. The timetable and details of witnesses are attached.

The Hobart public hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service and will be available at the following link <a href="http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/">http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/</a>.

The Members of the Committee are:

Legislative Council
Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)
Hon Meg Webb MLC
Hon Josh Willie MLC

House of Assembly Ms Lara Alexander MP Dr Shane Broad MP Mr Dean Young MP

Further information about the Committee is available on the Committee website.

ends

Further information: Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) – 0419 879 524



### **Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts**

## **Public Hearing Schedule**

### **Public Hearings:**

Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the feasibility planning for a new sporting and event stadium in Hobart

#### **Disclaimer – Subject to Change**

Date: Thursday, 27 April 2023

**Venue:** Ground Floor Meeting Room – Henty House, Launceston

Time Witnesses
11:15 am – 12:15 pm Mr Greg Hall
Mr Ivan Dean

01:15 pm – 02:15 pm **Mr Don Willing** 

02:15 pm - 03:15 pm **Mr Robert Richardson** 

**Date:** Friday, 28 April 2023

**Venue:** Committee Room 2 – Parliament House, Hobart

Time Witnesses

09:00 am - 10:00 am Mr Terry Roe (State President)

Mr Peter van Loggerenberg (Vietnam Veteran)

Vietnam Veterans Association (Tasmania)

10:00 am - 10:45 am Mr Toby Rowallan (President)

**Mr Stephen Zvillis (Vice President)** 

Mr Ben Johnston (Secretary)

Hobart Northern Suburbs Rail Action Group

11:00 am – 12:00 noon Mr Matthew Pollock (Chief Executive Officer, MBA)

Representing Master Builders Association and Tourism Industry

Council of Australia

Time Witnesses

01:00 pm – 01:45 pm Mr Brian Scullin (Chairman)

Ms Anne Beach (Acting Chief Executive Officer)

Macquarie Point Development Corporation

01:45 pm – 02:45 pm **Ms Anna Reynolds (Lord Mayor and Alderman)** 

Hobart City Council