

MEDIA ADVISORY

FRIDAY, 16 JUNE 2023

PARLIAMENTARY JOINT SESSIONAL COMMITTEE WORKPLACE CULTURE OVERSIGHT

Providing a safe and respectful work environment for employees in Ministerial and Parliamentary Services is a high priority.

The Premier and Presiding Officers (as employers) agreed in principle to all fourteen recommendations from the *Motion for Respect – Report into Workplace Culture in the Tasmanian Ministerial and Parliamentary Services* (the Bolt Report). This approach has also been endorsed by the Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee).

To assist with the implementation of the Recommendations, the Committee is pleased to announce that following an extensive recruitment process Ms Julia Agostino has been appointed to the newly established role of Motion for Respect - Independent Project Manager. This role will lead the design of programs and initiatives to achieve the recommendations of the Report and will play a pivotal role in reviewing the current employment structure and governance arrangements across Ministerial and Parliamentary Services (MPS) and implement change as agreed by the Employers creating a framework that is strategic and fit for purpose.

This role has a unique matrix relationship providing reports to, and receiving guidance from this Committee, and direction from the Employers being the Premier, the Speaker of the House of Assembly and the President of the Legislative Council and will lead a multidisciplinary team to deliver workplace reform outcomes.

Following this appointment, the Committee resolved to affirm its commitment to the importance of ensuring that MPS are safe workplaces, which are free from discrimination, sexual harassment and bullying and further, that the Committee recommits to assisting with implementation of the Bolt Reports' Recommendations.

Membership of the Committee -

House of Assembly The Premier, Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Chair) The Speaker, Hon Mark Shelton MP Cassy O'Connor MP Rebecca White MP

Legislative Council Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Deputy Chair) The President, Hon Craig Farrell MLC Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC Hon Sarah Lovell MLC