Media Release



Joint Select Committee on Greyhound Racing In Tasmania

Tuesday 22 September 2015

Today, the House of Assembly has agreed to extend the reporting timeframe for the inquiry being undertaken into the greyhound industry in Tasmania.

The Committee has received eighty-six submissions and held four public hearings to date. The Committee still needs to hear from further witnesses to ensure that all persons that wish to speak before the inquiry are able to do so.

The Committee will now report to Parliament by 31 March 2016.

Members of the Committee are:

Legislative Council: The Hon. Mike Gaffney MLC The Hon. Tania Rattray MLC The Hon. Adriana Taylor MLC (Deputy Chair) The Hon. Rob Valentine MLC House of Assembly: Mr Scott Bacon MP Ms Sarah Courtney MP Ms Cassy O'Connor MP (Chair) Mrs Joan Rylah MP