

Legislative Council Committee Inquiry

MEDIA ADVISORY

9 June 2017

Inquiry into Tasmanian Child and Family Centres

The Legislative Council Select Committee inquiring into Child and Family Centres in Tasmania will be conducting public hearings in Launceston on Tuesday 13 June and in Hobart on Wednesday 14 June.

The Launceston hearings will be held in the Boardroom, 4th Floor, Henty House, Launceston and will commence at 9.45 am.

The Hobart hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 9.15 am.

The timetable and list of witnesses is attached.

The Chair of the Inquiry is Josh Willie MLC.

Other Members of the Inquiry are:

Hon Ivan Dean MLC Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Deputy Chair) Hon Tania Rattray MLC Hon Rob Valentine MLC

Further information about the Inquiry, including its terms of reference and information for making submissions, is available on the Committee website

For further information: Hon Josh Willie MLC - (03) 6212 2306

ends

TUESDAY 13 JUNE - LAUNCESTON

9.45 am	(30)	Elizabeth Daly OAM				
10.30		MORNING TEA				
10.45 am	(25)	George Town Child and Family Centre Cr Peter Parkes Helen Bowring, CHaPs Nurse CFC Deborah Donald, parent				
11.30 am	(27)	Ravenswood Child and Family Centre Lynne Wyllie-Watson, Centre Leader Zachary Taylor, Principal, Ravenswood Heights Primary Lisa Mulvey, Occupational Therapist, St Giles Therapy Centre Kylie Widdowson, parent and volunteer				
12.15 pm	(9)	East Devonport Child and Family Centre Jenny Mountney, Centre Leader				
1.00 pm		LUNCH				
2.00 pm	(5)	Telethon Kids Institute Prof. Cate Taylor, Senior Principal Research Fellow/Co-Head Human Capabili				
3.30 pm		AFTERNOON TEA				
3.45 pm	(10)	St Marys Fingal Early Years (TBC) Gary Barnes, Manager				
		WEDNESDAY 14 JUNE 2017 - HOBART				
9.15 am	(18)	St Giles Therapy Services Kirsty Bartlett-Clark				
10.00 am	0.00 am (13) Lady Gowrie Ros Cornish, CEO Annette Barwick, Manager, Lady Gowrie Training Centre					
10.45		MORNING TEA				
11.00 am	00 am (23) Tasmanian Principals Association (via teleconference) Malcolm Elliott, President					
11.30 am	(32)	Youth Network of Tasmania Joanna Siekjka, CEO				
12.00 pm	(20)	Child Health Association Liz Crane, State Executive Officer				
12.30 pm	(14)	Brad Freeman and Penny Joules				
1.00 pm		LUNCH				
2.00 pm	(29)	TASCOSS Kym Goodes, CEO				
2.45 pm		AFTERNOON TEA				
3.00 pm	(34)	Neighbourhood Houses Tasmania <i>John Hooper, Executive Officer</i>				
3.30 pm	(21)	Tasmanian Government				

Jenny Gale, Secretary, Department of Education