

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SELECT COMMITTEE AFL IN TASMANIA

The Legislative Council has established a Select Committee to inquire into the future of AFL in Tasmania with particular reference to –

- (1) The likely benefits to the broader Tasmanian economy and community from having a Tasmanian team in the AFL;
- (2) Whether or not the Tasmanian Taxpayer, or the AFL, should subsidise Melbourne based AFL Clubs playing in Tasmania;
- (3) The on-going support required to sustain a Tasmanian AFL team;
- (4) The possible solutions to the AFL's perception of Tasmania being geographically and politically divided;
- (5) The impact on the future participation rates in AFL in Tasmania of not having a Tasmanian team in the AFL;
- (6) If Tasmania were to establish an AFL team, when would it be the optimal time for it to commence; and
- (7) Any other matter incidental thereto.

The Committee invites written submissions from interested individuals or organisations addressing the above terms of reference. Electronic submissions are preferred and can be forwarded to the Inquiry Secretary: aff@parliament.tas.gov.au. Alternatively, written submissions can be forwarded to:

Ms Natasha Exel Inquiry Secretary Legislative Council Parliament House, Hobart TAS 7000 Tel: (03) 6212 2245

Submissions should be received no later than close of business, Thursday 20 June 2019.

The Committee's Terms of Reference and other information are also available on the Parliament of Tasmania website (www.parliament.tas.gov.au) or by contacting the Inquiry Secretary.

Submissions should reflect the Inquiry's Terms of Reference. Submissions become the property of the Committee and should not be disclosed to any party prior to the Committee's final report. Submissions received are generally published via the Inquiry webpage prior to the Committee reporting. The Inquiry will accept confidential submissions upon request but it should be noted that confidential information cannot be subsequently used in the Inquiry's Final Report.

The Committee may contact some individuals or entities that make submissions to invite them to appear at public hearings. The Committee will not contact everyone who makes a submission but will review all submissions and use them to inform the Committee's work. The Inquiry cannot resolve individual disputes

Members of the Committee are:

Hon Ivan Dean MLC, Member for Windermere (Chair)
Hon Craig Farrell MLC, Member for Derwent
Hon Kerry Finch MLC, Member for Rosevears, (Deputy Chair)
Hon Mike Gaffney MLC, Member for Mersey
Hon Jane Howlett MLC, Member for Prosser
Hon Jo Siejka MLC, Member for Pembroke