## Resolution of the House Establishing the Standing Committees on Community Development and State Development

## Thursday, 26 June 2014

- (1) That for the remainder of this Parliament, the Standing Committees on Community Development and State Development be established to inquire into and report upon any issues and legislative proposals arising within the scope of the committees as set out below.
- (2) Scope of the two committees is:—
  - (a) Community Development Committee:—
    - (i) aboriginal affairs;
    - (ii) arts;
    - (iii) corrections;
    - (iv) health;
    - (v) human services;
    - (vi) justice;
    - (vii) police and emergency management;
    - (viii) racing;
    - (ix) sport and recreation; and
    - (x) women; and
  - (b) State Development Committee:—
    - (i) education and training;
    - (ii) energy;
    - (iii) environment, parks and heritage;
    - (iv) Government Businesses;
    - (v) information technology and innovation;
    - (vi) infrastructure;
    - (vii) planning and local government;
    - (viii) primary industries and water;
    - (ix) resources;
    - (x) state growth;
    - (xi) state service management;
    - (xii) tourism, hospitality and events; and
    - (xiii) treasury.
- (3) Members who are not members of the committees may participate in proceedings by asking questions of witnesses at the discretion of the Chair, but may not vote, move any motion or be counted for the purposes of a quorum.
- (4) Each member of the committees shall have a deliberative vote only.
- (5) (a) it shall be open to any member of a committee to nominate in writing to the Chair of the committee a proxy to attend any meeting of a committee on behalf of the member. A proxy member shall exercise all the rights of an appointed member including voting rights at any meeting of a committee; and
  - (b) if a permanent vacancy occurs in the membership of a committee the House shall, where appropriate, appoint a member in substitution, except that the

Leader of the Opposition can nominate a permanent replacement for the Opposition member.

- (6) A quorum for any meeting of a committee shall be three (of whom one is the Chair of the committee or Deputy Chair) when the committee is hearing evidence but shall be four when deliberating.
- (7) References can be made to the committees in the following manner:—
  - (a) by Resolution of the House; or
  - (b) by a Minister of the Crown; or
  - (c) by the Committee's own motion (including public submissions).
- (8) (a) except as provided in (b), the committees shall conduct all their affairs in public unless the committee by majority vote determines it is in the public interest to take evidence and/or deliberate in private; and
  - (b) in deliberating or in taking evidence on matters which are commercial-inconfidence the Committee shall sit in private.
- (9) That the committees have the power to send for persons and papers, with leave to sit during any adjournment of the House exceeding fourteen days, with leave to adjourn from place to place and with leave to report from time to time.
- (10) (a) a response by the Government to the recommendations contained in a report of a Standing Committee established in accordance with this order shall be laid upon the Table of the House within four months of the report having been brought up, provided, that should the Parliament not be sitting, the response may be lodged with the Clerk of the House for tabling on the next sitting day; and
  - (b) a response that is given to the Clerk under (a) is taken to have been published by order, or under the authority of, the House of Assembly.
- (11) That the following Members of this House be appointed to serve on the Community Development Standing Committee:—

Mr Barnett (Chair),

Ms Courtney (Deputy Chair),

Mr Jaensch,

A Member nominated by the Leader of the Opposition, and

Ms O'Connor.

(12) That the following Members of this House be appointed to serve on the State Development Standing Committee:—

Mr Brooks (Chair),

Ms Courtney (Deputy Chair),

Mrs Rylah,

A Member nominated by the Leader of the Opposition, and

Mr McKim".