

## Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

## **Invitation for Submissions**

Friday, 9 December 2022

Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the feasibility planning for a new sporting and event stadium in Hobart

On 6 December 2022, in accordance with section 6(2)(a) of the *Public Accounts Committee Act* 1970, the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Committee) resolved to inquire into and report upon the Tasmanian Government's process into the feasibility planning for a new sporting and event stadium in Hobart with a particular emphasis on:

- 1. the process used to select Macquarie Point as the site for a proposed new stadium;
- 2. how a new roofed stadium became a condition of a Tasmanian licence to enter the Australian Football League (AFL);
- 3. the figures and assumptions contained within any State Government commissioned reports and economic impact assessments of the proposed Macquarie Point stadium, including any subsidies required and assessments of ongoing operating costs;
- 4. the Tasmanian Government's expectation regarding financial contributions from the Australian Government, AFL and third parties;
- 5. the level of borrowing and costs on the assumed \$375 million Tasmanian Government contribution to the construction of the proposed new stadium;
- 6. the future of Blundstone Arena and UTAS Stadium, including State Government ownership and future capital and operational expenditure;
- 7. the role of the Major Stadiums business unit within State Growth and the newly established statutory authority Stadiums Tasmania in relation to the proposed new stadium; and
- 8. any other incidental matter incidental thereto.

The Committee invites written submissions from interested individuals or organisations. **Electronic submissions are encouraged** and all submissions can be provided to:

Simon Scott Committee Secretary Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts Parliament House HOBART TAS 7000 Email: <u>pac@parliament.tas.gov.au</u> Phone: (03) 6212 2245

The Committee's Terms of Reference and other relevant information are also available on the Parliament of Tasmania website (<u>www.parliament.tas.gov.au</u>) or by contacting the Committee Secretary.

Submissions become the property of the Committee and are generally made publicly available via the <u>Inquiry webpage</u> prior to the Committee releasing its Final Report. However, authors of submissions should not publish their submission elsewhere until after the Committee has reported.

Submissions will be received by no later than close of business on Friday, 10 February 2023.

The Members of the Committee are:

Legislative Council Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) Hon Meg Webb MLC Hon Josh Willie MLC House of Assembly Ms Lara Alexander MP Dr Shane Broad MP Mr Dean Young MP

Copy of the advertisement to be placed in the three regional newspapers Saturday, 17 December 2022