

1857.

TASMANIA.

PETITION.

ELECTORAL ACT.

Presented by Mr. Crookes, and ordered by the House to be printed, 27 October, 1857.



To the Honourable the House of Assembly of Tasmania.

The Petition of the undersigned Electors of Launceston and others.

RESPECTFULLY SHOWETH:

That the present practice of Nomination at Elections on public hustings is attended with inconvenience and loss of time,—is productive of unnecessary excitement,—is inconsistent with vote by ballot,—and is destitute of any advantage that could not be better secured by other means.

That in New South Wales steps have been taken to abolish Nomination on the Hustings by Movers and Seconders; and in South Australia the mode adopted is thus prescribed in the Electoral Act of that Colony:—"It shall be lawful for any two electors of any Electoral District, before or at the time fixed for nomination, to address and forward or deliver to the Returning Officer of such District a letter signed by such two electors as proposer and seconder of a person to be therein named as a Candidate to represent the District, the person also proposed as a Candidate signifying his assent in writing to act if elected: and on the day of nomination named in the Writ, the Returning Officer shall attend at noon at the chief voting-place of the Electoral District, and shall then open the letters so addressed to him; and if there shall not be a greater number of Candidates so proposed and seconded, and consenting as aforesaid, than are by such Writ required to be elected, the Returning Officer shall declare such Candidate or Candidates to be duly elected, and make his return accordingly; and in the event of there being more Candidates so proposed and seconded and consenting as aforesaid than are by such Writ required, the Returning Officer shall give notice at such chief voting-place of the names of the Candidates, and of the persons by whom they have been proposed and seconded; and the voting shall commence at the different voting-places for the District as nearly as may be at nine o'clock in the forenoon of the day appointed in the Writ for taking the vote, and shall cease at four o'clock in the afternoon."

Your Petitioners therefore pray that your Honourable House will cause the Local Electoral Act to be so far amended as to obviate for the future those scenes which sometimes occur on nomination days, when angry feelings are excited, the public quiet disturbed, and the peace of Her Majesty endangered.

And your Petitioners will ever pray.

C. J. Weedon, J.P.
Will. Johnstone
Chas. Nichols
M. Gaunt
J. G. Jennings
Wm. Neilly, J.P.
James Robertson
Bruce R. Harvey
Charles Q. Kennedy
Geo. M. Eddie
Robt. Bain
John Scott
Robt. De Little
Henry E. Lette
W. H. Cartwright
J. G. Spicer
Rich, Green
Cs. Cowle
Alfred Harrap
Geo. Dean

Chas. Thomson
W. Allison
Willm. Birch
W. Turnbull
John Whitefoord
St. John E. Browne
Wm. Douglass
Wm. Cleveland
S. Garrett
W. H. Westbrook
R. M. M'Dowall
James Baird
Henry Irvine
C. J. Irvine
George Fisher
George Fisher E. P. Tregurtha
E. Edwards
William Haine
Jno. Toan
Wm. Williams

Ed. Brooks
Alf. Johnson
W. Tyson
Jas. Peters
A. J. Marriott
Geo. P. Hudson
Thos. W. Buckland
E. D. Harrop
J. Cameron
G. Banks Smith
Sam. M'Kie
Henry Howe
Wm. M'Kinner
R. P. Dix
Henry Stephens
William Hart
C. Roberts
H. B. Nickolls
Thomas S. Hill
Dowie & Woodgate
•

T. Powell G. H. Luckhurst Cha. Hurrie Lewis Cohen W. Hurst Joseph Cohen W. T. Sharp Thomas P. Probin T. Conoly
A. M. Milligan Jno. G. Kerr Jno. Wm. Hatton C. Gavin Casey R. Z. Poole J. V. Jackson R. D. Mac Eacharn Jas. Jno. Hudson John Cartledge John Gibbons G. Babington Wm. S. Madden D. Murray R. H. Hawkins William H. Walbourn C. Walbourn Geo. Allen
Jno. Sinclair
G. N. Marsh John Harrison

T. Swain Thomas Corbett J. Aikenhead Matt. Tyson Thomas Bain Alex. Duthie Edward Symonds J. S. Hatfield J. Trangmar A. Fraser Josias M'Allan R. M. Carpenter Jno. C. Kent Chas. Kent Charles Hudson Jno. Cape C. M'Arthur Edwd. J. Dawes R. Pescodd C. A. W. Rocher Robert Marlow John Ferguson Davd. Macqueen
John Porter
J. H. Jackson A. Simpson
James P. Parker
E. L. Ditchman

John Barnett
John Nicklin Merry
Evan Roberts
Jos. Hudson
Wm. Hyde
Charles Smith
W. M. Dean
C. T. Weetman
Isaac Sherwin
R. Bennett
Edw. F. Dease
W. J. Horwood
Jas. Flexman
F. W. Townley
Jas. H. Burgess
C. Lovett
James Davies
Samuel Joscelyne
Geo. Stewart
R. K Ewing, Presbyterian
Minister
J. F. Hobkirk
G. R. Russell
George Trew
John Tinons
Henry Manning
George Charlton
George Gilmore