TASMANIA

PARLIAMENTARY REFORM (RESTORE ASSEMBLY NUMBERS) BILL 2012

CONTENTS

PART 1 - PRELIMINARY

- 1. Short Title
- 2. Commencement
- 3. Principal Act
- 4. Act to Bind Crown

PART 2 – AMENDMENTS TO CONSTITUTION ACT 1934

- 5. Section 8A substituted (Limit on number of Ministers of the Crown)
- 6. Section 22 substituted (Constitution of the Assembly)
- 7. Section 25 amended (Quorum of the Assembly)

PART 3 – AMENDMENTS TO Electoral Act 2004

8. Amendments to *Electoral Act 2004*

(blank for printing purposes)

PARLIAMENTARY REFORM (RESTORE ASSEMBLY NUMBERS) Bill 2012

(Brought in by Nicholas James McKim MP)

A BILL FOR

An Act to amend certain Acts to provide for the restoring of the number of Members in the House of Assembly from 25 to 35.

Be it enacted by His Excellency the Governor of Tasmania, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and House of Assembly, in Parliament assembled, as follows:

PART 1 - PRELIMINARY

1. Short Title

This Act may be cited as the *Parliamentary Reform (Restore Assembly Numbers) Act 2012.*

2. Commencement

This Act commences on the day on which it receives the Royal Assent.

3. Principal Act

In this Act, the *Constitution Act 1934* is referred to as the Principal Act.*

4. Act to bind Crown

This Act binds the Crown in right of Tasmania and, so far as the legislative power of Parliament permits, in all its other capacities.

^{*} No. 94 of 1934

Part 2 – AMENDMENTS TO CONSTITUTION ACT 1934

5. Section 8A substituted (Limit on number of Ministers of the Crown)

The Principal Act is amended by repealing Section 8A and substituting the following section:

Section 8A Limit on number of Ministers of the Crown

8 A. No more than 10, or, where a Secretary to Cabinet has been appointed pursuant to <u>section 8F</u>, no more than 9, persons shall hold office as Ministers of the Crown at any one time.

6. Section 22 substituted (Constitution of the Assembly)

The Principal Act is amended by repealing Section 22 and substituting the following section:

22. Constitution of the Assembly

- (1) The Assembly is to be constituted of 35 members.
 - (2) Each member of the Assembly is to be elected, as provided by this Act, in accordance with the *Electoral Act 2004*, to represent an Assembly division.
 - (3) For the purpose of returning members to serve in the Assembly, the State is to be divided into 5 divisions, each of which is to return 7 members.
 - (4) The names of the divisions of the Assembly are Bass, Braddon, Denison, Franklin and Lyons.
 - (5) The divisions of the Assembly comprise the areas described in <u>Schedule 4</u>.

7. Section 25 amended (Quorum of the Assembly)

The Principal Act is amended by omitting from subsection 25(1) "10" and substituting "14".

PART 3 – AMENDMENTS TO ELECTORAL ACT 2004

8. Amendments to *Electoral Act 2004*

The *Electoral Act 2004* is amended as follows:

- (a) by omitting "five" from subsection (b) (i) of section 100 and substituting "seven".
- (b) by omitting "and 5" from paragraph (a) of section 102 (1) and substituting ", 5, 6 and 7".
- (c) by omitting "5" from subsection (2) of section 103 and substituting "7".