2010 (No. 22)



PARLIAMENT OF TASMANIA

# JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTEGRITY

# **Annual Report 2010**

Laid upon the Tables of both Houses of Parliament pursuant to section 26 of the Integrity Commission Act 2009

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Legislative Council

House of Assembly

Mr Wilkinson (Chairperson)
Dr Goodwin
Mr Parkinson

Mr Booth Mr Hidding Ms White

# **Table of Contents**

1	THE INTEGRITY COMMITTEE	. 2
2	PROCEEDINGS OF THE COMMITTEE	. 3

#### 1 THE INTEGRITY COMMITTEE

#### **Appointment**

- 1.1 The Joint Standing Committee on Integrity (the Committee) was established pursuant to section 23 of the Integrity Commission Act 2009<sup>1</sup> (the Act).
- 1.2 The Committee consists of six Members of Parliament, comprising: three appointed by the Legislative Council; and three appointed by the House of Assembly.
- 1.3 On 14 October last, the Legislative Council and the House of Assembly respectively appointed to the Committee: the Honourable Member for Pembroke, Dr *Goodwin*; the Honourable Member for Hobart, Mr *Parkinson*; the Honourable Member for Nelson, Mr *Wilkinson*; the Honourable Member for Bass, Mr *Booth*; the Honourable Member for Lyons, Mr *Hidding*; and the Honourable Member for Lyons, Ms *White*.

### **Functions and powers**

- 1.4 The Committee has the following functions:
  - (a) to monitor and review the performance of the functions of an integrity entity;
  - (b) to report to both Houses of Parliament, as it considers appropriate, on the following matters:
    - (i) matters relevant to an integrity entity;
    - (ii) matters relevant to the performance of an integrity entity's functions or the exercise of an integrity entity's powers;
  - (c) to examine the annual reports of an integrity entity and any other report of an integrity entity and report to both Houses of Parliament on any matter appearing in or arising out of such reports;
  - (d) to report to the Legislative Council or House of Assembly on any matter relevant to an integrity entity's functions that is referred to it by the Legislative Council or House of Assembly;
  - (e) to review the functions, powers and operations of the Integrity Commission at the expiration of the period of 3 years commencing on the commencement of this section and to table in both Houses of Parliament a report regarding any action that should be taken in relation to this

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Integrity Commission Act 2009 (No. 67 of 2009)

Act or the functions, powers and operations of the Integrity Commission:

- (f) to provide guidance and advice relating to the functions of an integrity entity under this Act;
- (g) to refer any matter to the Integrity Commission for investigation or advice;
- (h) to comment on proposed appointments to be made under section 14(1)(e), (f) or (g), section 15 and section 27.2
- 1.5 The Committee is not authorised to:-
  - (a) investigate any matter relating to a complaint that is being dealt with by the Integrity Commission; or
  - (b) review a decision of the Integrity Commission to investigate, not investigate or discontinue an investigation or inquire into or not inquire into a particular complaint; or
  - (c) make findings, recommendations, determinations or decisions in relation to a particular investigation or inquiry of a complaint that is being or has been dealt with by the Integrity Commission.<sup>3</sup>

#### Report to Parliament

1.6 The Committee is required to provide a report of its proceedings under the Act to both Houses of Parliament by 30 November of each year.<sup>4</sup>

## 2 PROCEEDINGS OF THE COMMITTEE

- 2.1 The Act commenced on 1 October last and consequently the Committee has met only once during the reporting period.
- 2.2 At such meeting all members of the Committee were present and the Committee elected the Honourable Member for Nelson, Mr *Wilkinson*, Chairperson of the Committee and the Honourable Member for Bass, Mr *Booth*, Vice Chairperson of the Committee.
- 2.3 Further, the Committee deliberated upon:-
  - 2.3.1 arrangements to meet with the: Chief Commissioner; Board; and Chief Executive Officer of the Integrity Commission; and

<sup>3</sup> Ibid, section 24(2).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Ibid, section 24(1).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Ibid, section 26(1).

2.3.2 the appointment of the Parliamentary Standards Commissioner.

Parliament House HOBART 12 November 2010 Hon. Jim Wilkinson MLC CHAIRPERSON